Troy Baker talks Resident Evil 6 with The Pause Button

2 10 2012

For those of you looking to pick up Resident Evil 6 today (if you haven’t already), check out our interview with Troy Baker during Saboten 2012 discussing his new character Jake Muller debuting in the storied franchise.

The Pause Button: How does it feel for you to come in on the heels of such a big character like Wesker? How is it specifically for you and the fans, to play such a big role in Resident Evil 6?

Troy Baker: Well I’m a gamer first, and I’ve played since Resident Evil 1 so I’ve seen the progression from Jill to Chris, Leon, Claire. So to kind of be one of those characters, it’s pretty humbling, it’s pretty cool. I love the fact that it’s a new character that I can do, that I get to help with Capcom–we sat down and spent a lot of time really creating the character.

So it was a great process because it was very concentrated and normally it’s very spread out. There were parts that kind of got compartmentalized over you know, a year and a half. But for the most part most of the shooting, most of the motion capture and voicing that we did was in a very contained amount of time so it was great to dive into the character, dive into a story, and we do it soup to nuts and actually get to see to entire arc.

I love the character of Jake. I think he’s such a great addition to the Resident Evil universe. I’m just pleased as much to play him.

The Pause Button: Are there any other projects that you’re working on that you can tell us a little bit about, either 2012 or 2013 games that are coming out?

Troy Baker: The two big ones are Resident Evil 6 as I mentioned… …Bioshock Infinite should be out in February, I play Booker DeWitt, so I’m really excited about that one. And uh, and The Last of Us, which is Naughty Dog’s new title first thing coming off the success of Uncharted. And this is a completely different genre for them since it’s a much more serious, much more grounded, uh, pretty brutal, brutal story.  I think it’s going to be one of the greatest things I’ve ever done. So that’s just a few things I’m real excited about.

Resident Evil 6 releases on Playstation 3 and Xbox 360 on October 2nd.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

